Staying Fit and Healthy at College: Day One

I’m sure you’ve heard of the dreaded “Freshman Fifteen”, where in your first year of college you gain about fifteen extra pounds. For me, I actually lost about twenty from all the stress and a really bad diet. Both of these are NOT good for me. A lot of other college students have these same problems it seems like. They either gain weight they don’t want or lose a lot of weight that makes them more unhealthy than before.

So I have decided that this year, I’m gonna try to get fit and stay as healthy as possible. And I’m gonna keep track of my progress on here and share my tips, trials, and errors with you!

Get Some Goals!

First off, a specific set of goals should be figured out. I mean, if you just start eating lettuce with ranch and jogging once around your dorm for a week and then quit, what’s the point? If you have a certain goal in mind, it helps to keep you motivated and on track with your plan to get healthy.

I made some sticky notes with a bunch of different goals I have, and not all of them are about losing weight or getting six-pack abs. I considered other things that also affect my overall health like stress and not sleeping. 

To start thinking of your own goals, think of three things that you would consider to be obstacles that you create yourself, both physically and mentally. For example, I’m REALLY good at procrastinating which is REALLY bad for school, and I also have issues keeping with something that I started. It’s fine if you have more than three, but don’t get too crazy!

After you think of obstacles, think of strategies to overcome those personal obstacles. Instead of wasting my time on Pinterest (my favorite past-time) I could be using my spare time to work on homework so I’m not up till 3 in the morning. And I can keep myself on track by setting goals (Ah-ha!) and keeping myself motivated.

Now think of ways that can help you to use these strategies and overcome your obstacles! Keeping in the theme of procrastination and perseverance, I plan to use available areas like the school gym and the library to help me from giving up on my goals and from procrastination.

Your main goal may be to lose 25 lbs but that’s a mighty big bite to chew. Break it down into several mini-goals with specific dates you want to achieve them and rewards you plan on giving yourself. I plan on getting my work done first, working out second and then treating myself when I finish with either a little dessert or a movie night. I have a specific goal of how many sit ups, push ups and squats I want to do easily and a date to go with it. I haven’t decided on a really good reward for that goal yet, but it’ll be awesome!

Let’s Get it Started.

So now you have goals with rewards and a deadline. How are you gonna do it?!

It all really depends on what your specific goals are, but researching methods online can really help. You can try basic things like sit ups, push ups and jumping jacks (like me) or if you have the time and money, you can attend classes at a local community center or YMCA. I suggest Zumba classes or some kind of dance-ercise class. It’s a lot of fun even if you feel a little silly at first. Plus, it doesn’t really even feel like a work out! If you do want to do something that feels like a workout, talk to a trainer and you can either work with them or ask them for some tips.

The best time to start a change is NOW! Make some time as soon as possible and GET ‘ER DONE.

The Plan…

Alrighty so here’s my personal plan to getting fit and healthy (so far). This “plan” will most likely change as I figure out what works and what doesn’t through trial and error. But BASICALLY, this is how it’s gonna roll…

The Munchies

  • breakfast: either a bowl of cereal or a protein bar
  • lunch: either, half a sandwich with some chips, a bowl of yogurt and granola, or some pasta and a side salad
  • dinner: WHATEVER I WANT! No really, whatever I feel like eating. But I’m only gonna limit myself to one serving of whatever it is.
  • desserts and sodas: only on the weekend or when I go out with friends (which is hardly ever)
  • liquids: fruit juices and milk

The Workout 

  • Monday: 10 push ups, 20 sit ups, 25 squats, 20 lunges (10 per leg) and 80 jumping jacks + stretching
  • Tuesday: dance practice, 10 push ups and 20 sit ups
  • Wednesday: 10 push ups, 20 sit ups, 25 squats, 20 lunges (10 per leg) and 80 jumping jacks + stretching, rest 1 hour and then repeat
  • Thursday: dance practice, 10 push ups and 20 sit ups
  • Friday: 10 push ups, 20 sit ups, 25 squats, 20 lunges (10 per leg) and 80 jumping jacks + stretching

**This specific workout is planned by myself with the help of some research and personal testing. I made sure that I can physically do these things without hurting myself. PLEASE set your first workout schedule as something that is not too over the top hard. Start slow and work yourself up.**

Check back in tomorrow for my report for the day and for my tips to motivate yourself while you work out!

Stay positive and keep rollin’

~J

Leave a Reply

