It’s EARTH DAY!

Happy Earth Day!

All throughout today, I will be constantly posting videos, pictures and websites that have to do with saving our one and only beautiful Earth!

First up is a website that calculates your ecological footprint based on a series of questions based on your eating habits, how much trash you generate, the type of housing you live in, your driving habits and electricity usage. You can use a general rating or more specific ratings for more accurate results. Click HERE to take the quiz!

I was REALLY surprised when I took the quiz! I thought that I live with a very small ecological footprint, but if everyone on the planet lived as I do it would take 3.8 Earths to sustain everyone. It takes about 17 global acres of productive land to sustain my lifestyle.

So what’s your estimated ecological footprint? Is it higher or lower than you thought?

~J

3 thoughts on “It’s EARTH DAY!

  1. The calculator you took cannot completely accurately determine your Ecological Footprint, so don’t be too hard on yourself. For example, if you note down that you consume quite a lot of meat, the calculator will assume that the meat you consumed is produced in the same way as the average piece of meat in the U.S. Making a switch to less intensively produced meat will not show up within the calculator, but may well reduce your overall environmental impact.

    There are also components of the Ecological Footprint that are included that are outside of an individual’s power to alter: government and corporate expenditure for example.

    • I know it’s not completely accurate but it does bring up a good point. We as people create more of a negative impact on the environment than we should. I won’t beat myself up over it, but I will try harder to do my part!

      I’m not sure if you took the quiz or not, but they have very specific questions on approximately how much food/energy/oil you use. I’m a vegetarian but I still eat fish and seafood so my impact was less in that way. It also asks about how much of your food is from farmer’s markets and organically certified.

  2. You really make it appear so easy along with your presentation but I in finding this topic to be actually something which I believe I would never understand. It sort of feels too complicated and extremely broad for me. I’m taking a look ahead to your subsequent post, I will try to get the hang of it!

Leave a Reply

