Keep on truckin’…

So here’s the thing.

I was planning on leaving school for summer break on May third but I recently discovered that I have to stay till the seventh. No biggie really, except that I was also planning on going to a Kentucky Derby party that Saturday, and also play with my band at a senior center on Friday. So now I have to cancel playing at the senior center and I can’t go to the Derby party in my awesome Derby costume (I was gonna be a 5 foot 10 jockey). Plus, I’m just bummed that I won’t be able to go home as soon as I had liked and have to stay an extra four days.

But you know what? It doesn’t matter. Sure, I was angry and upset and stressed for a few hours but then I got to thinking: I can’t do anything to change it. I can’t whine my way into fixing it. So I’ll just live with it.

And you know, that’s how I’ve been trying to get through everything that happens to me in my life. Just live with it and keep thinking ahead. I’ve made plans to see a musical and go out to eat this weekend, and next week my future roomie and I are gonna make some Oreo thingies for a friend’s birthday and then that weekend make some tie-dye t-shirts for next semester.

So I guess what I’m trying to get at is that there is no use in dwelling and stressing over things you can’t change. The best way to get over the crap that happens is to just keep on truckin’…

Leave a Reply

